Skip to content

Fractured teeth, double root canal won’t sideline Martin St. Louis on Friday

Apr 14, 2011, 12:58 PM EDT

Martin St. Louis AP

Usually, a high-sticking penalty that draws blood yields a double-minor. That wasn’t the case last night, as referees missed a Zbynek Michalek high-stick on Martin St. Louis, even though the missed infraction cost him two teeth.

Cameras caught St. Louis fuming on the Tampa Bay Lightning bench after the missed call. It was with good reason, too. Not only did the Pittsburgh Penguins defenseman go without a penalty – which would have been huge, especially since the Bolts only received one power play all game long – but St. Louis was forced to endure a painful dental surgery after the game.

Erik Erlendsson reports that the wayward stick fractured two of his teeth, forcing St. Louis to get a double root canal. There isn’t much of a chance for officials to deliver a “makeup call” in this situation, unless they allow a Lightning player to reenact a squirm-inducing interrogation scene from the movie “Old Boy.” (Note: that previous link isn’t for the faint of heart.)

Of course, St. Louis is expected to play in Friday’s Game 2 match, because he’s a hockey player. It goes back to the motto “hockey players are tough,” although somehow this is even more impressive than usual. There’s something about fighting through dental injuries that’s on a higher level of toughness, so kudos to St. Louis … a guy who deserves far more Hart Trophy attention than he’s getting, by the way.

  1. abrienza428 - Apr 14, 2011 at 1:18 PM

    How is it a “high stick” if St. Louis was sitting on the ice when the stick hit him?

  2. balewsquare - Apr 14, 2011 at 1:18 PM

    I’m unsure so this is actually more of a question, but does the fact that St. Louis was lying on the ice make any difference? I feel like if he’s that low, there’s nothing that can be done. I feel bad for him, but I don’t think that warrants a penalty.

  3. syniper - Apr 14, 2011 at 1:24 PM

    I didn’t know ” L O W ” sticking was a penalty. Maybe smurfette should stay on her skates.

  4. gatortee - Apr 14, 2011 at 1:42 PM

    May not have been high-sticking but pretty sure it would classify as a slash.

  5. sinnister - Apr 14, 2011 at 7:04 PM

    It’s hockey. History will be made. Teeth will be lost.

  6. sfbookreviews - Apr 14, 2011 at 9:52 PM

    It wasn’t a “missed” call. It wasn’t called because it wasn’t a penalty. Simple. Now, there was a high stick that the Pens got away with and if you want to talk about that, we can. But this was an unfortunate happenstance, not a penalty.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kane (2040)
  2. P. Kessel (1272)
  3. M. Richards (1219)
  4. N. Backstrom (1123)
  5. M. Giordano (1001)