Skip to content

Minnesota-Duluth wins first national championship, beats Michigan 3-2 in overtime

Apr 9, 2011, 11:05 PM EDT

Max Tardy, Kenny Reiter Getty Images

The University of Minnesota-Duluth can finally call themselves champions of men’s hockey.

Minnesota-Duluth defeated Michigan in the national championship game 3-2 with a thrilling overtime victory. Minnesota native Kyle Schmidt scored the game-winning goal thanks to a great pass from Travis Oleksuk at 3:22 of overtime.

In a game that was back and forth and saw both teams deliver great goals and great saves, ultimately it was Minnesota-Duluth’s destiny as Kenny Reiter made 22 saves to lead the Bulldogs to victory. Semifinals hero for Michigan Shawn Hunwick did everything he could to lead the Wolverines, but ultimately fell short after saving 35 shots in the loss.

Michigan’s Ben Winnett scored in the first period to get the Wolverines a lead after one, but in the second, UMD roared back.

Oleksuk was the night’s hero scoring a goal to tie the game in the second period while adding an assist on the game-winning goal. Max Tardy scored his first goal of the season on the power play for UMD in the second period to put the Bulldogs ahead 2-1. Jeff Rohrkemper would knot things up late in the second scoring his third goal of the year. After a scoreless third the teams headed to overtime where Schmidt would end it for the Bulldogs.

The national championship was Minnesota-Duluth’s first for their men’s team in their history. Their women’s team won the NCAA title last year. Just like that, all of a sudden Duluth, Minnesota is college hockey’s version of title town. The school that once was home to NHL Hall of Famer Brett Hull can now claim their first title and the fans in Duluth couldn’t be prouder.

  1. polegojim - Apr 10, 2011 at 12:24 AM

    Great job guys – put out excellent effort in a battle most didn’t even think you’d be a part of.

    Well Done. GO BLUE!!!!!

  2. sknut - Apr 10, 2011 at 8:40 AM

    Congrats to the Bulldogs, they played outstanding and truly deserved the championship. This is good for all of college hockey. Although I am dissapointed that Minnesota and Wisconsin will be leaving for teh Big Ten conference in a few years.

  3. bcjim - Apr 10, 2011 at 8:57 AM

    Wow, what an exciti- zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1621)
  2. P. Kane (1594)
  3. M. Richards (1364)
  4. P. Datsyuk (1210)
  5. N. Backstrom (1098)