Mar 9, 2011, 4:12 PM EDT
The NHL announced that Boston Bruins defenseman Zdeno Chara will not be suspended nor will he be fined for his vicious hit on Montreal Canadiens forward Max Pacioretty.
Some might seize the opportunity to describe this situation as “Murphy’s Law” because: a) everything that could go wrong did go wrong and b) Mike Murphy ended up making the verdict because Colin Campbell couldn’t, since his son Gregory Campbell plays for the Bruins. As you may know, Pacioretty is out indefinitely with a severe concussion and broken vertebrae, with some wondering if it will be a career-ending injury. Meanwhile, Chara won’t even miss a single NHL shift.
Perhaps the saddest thing about this situation is that this verdict isn’t nearly as shocking as it should be. The NHL’s system of discipline has been the target of long running jokes, but at this point, it’s not funny anymore.
Seriously, is there any rhyme or reason to the league’s policies on dirty hits at this point? How in the world does Chara go punishment-free when the league is trying to crack down on dangerous hits like these? It’s a disappointing decision at best for a league whose justice system wouldn’t be out of place in the Wild West.
Obviously, it’s impossible to say that Chara deliberately drove Pacioretty’s head into the stanchion, but the big Bruins defenseman should be aware of his location on the ice when delivering such a hit. The fact that Pacioretty let go of the puck well before Chara made contact with him underscores how unfortunate and dangerous Chara’s decision really was.
Here’s Murphy’s statement regarding the lack of a fine or suspension:
“After a thorough review of the video I can find no basis to impose supplemental discipline. This hit resulted from a play that evolved and then happened very quickly — with both players skating in the same direction and with Chara attempting to angle his opponent into the boards. I could not find any evidence to suggest that, beyond this being a correct call for interference, that Chara targeted the head of his opponent, left his feet or delivered the check in any other manner that could be deemed to be dangerous.
“This was a hockey play that resulted in an injury because of the player colliding with the stanchion and then the ice surface. In reviewing this play, I also took into consideration that Chara has not been involved in a supplemental discipline incident during his 13-year NHL career.”
I hate to say it, but this is a sad day for hockey. Then again, I know there are many of you who will side with the NHL’s verdict. So in the spirit of open discussion, I thought I’d poll the PHT audience to see where you all stand.
Was the league justified in doing nothing? Should he just have been fined? Or was a suspension the only logical conclusion? Let us know in this poll. (If you need to take another look at the hit, the video is at the bottom of this post.)
- Blackhawks nearly blow it…but don’t 1
- ‘Hawks rattle Rask with ‘way more traffic’ in Game 4 3
- Discuss: More Seabrook OT magic ties series 27
- Are the Pens leaning towards trading Letang? (Updated) 65
- Playoffs Tonight: Can ‘Hawks solve Rask? 23
- Sakic: If we keep top pick, we’ll likely draft a forward 27
- Report: Flyers will buy out Briere, Bryzgalov another story (Updated) 37
- Report: Flyers, Ducks talking about Bobby Ryan 60
- Marchand accuses ‘kitty cat’ Shaw of eye gouging 103
- Quenneville says Hossa is ‘likely’ to play Game 4 12
- Blackhawks win OT thriller
- PFT: Report: Hernandez accused of prior shooting
- CSN: Report: Hernandez 'not ruled out' as suspect
- PBT: Celts, Clips restart Doc, KG trade talks
- Posnanski: How Heat won a game of mistakes
- GTC: Tiger pulls out of AT&T citing elbow issue
- HBT: Biogenesis suspensions still likely coming