Skip to content

You make the call: Matt Moulson’s game-winning goal, should it have counted?

Oct 22, 2010, 12:28 AM EDT

The Islanders and Lightning needed overtime to settle things and Matt Moulson was credited with the game-winning goal in overtime as he apparently got one slightly past Lightning netminder Dan Ellis. The goal was initially waived off by the referee who stood right over the play, but replay showed the puck apparently getting across enough of the goal line to overrule the official. As always, there’s controversy when it comes to replays and this one is no different as it took them over eight minutes to review the tape and make a decision.

What do you think though? Should they have called it a goal? Let us know what you think in the comments.

  1. tommyelay - Oct 22, 2010 at 9:02 AM

    Of course it should have counted ! It was a goal.

    Islanders – First place

    • mypanda909 - Oct 23, 2010 at 5:14 PM

      that is crap! the rules clearly state that it does not count as a goal unless you can CLEARLY see white ice between the puck and and the goal line. All you can see is the goaltender’s glove….

Featured video

Detroit must exploit Boston's young D
Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. T. Oshie (4378)
  2. E. Malkin (4043)
  3. M. Duchene (3838)
  4. B. Bishop (3239)
  5. H. Zetterberg (2952)
  1. O. Palat (2808)
  2. V. Tarasenko (2691)
  3. D. Backes (2574)
  4. S. Mason (2517)
  5. R. Getzlaf (2483)