Skip to content

You make the call: Shawn Horcoff’s reviewed goal vs. Florida

Oct 10, 2010, 10:56 PM EDT

Edmonton captain Shawn Horcoff was able to net the game-winning goal in the Oilers 3-2 win over Florida tonight, getting rookie Taylor Hall his first NHL point in the process as Hall landed an assists.

Horcoff, however, would see his goal get reviewed by the gang in Toronto as the puck went off his skate and into the net.That’s right, we’ve got controversy because the goal was counted.

See for yourself and make the call.

What do you think? Should Horcoff’s goal have counted? By the way, Horcoff is #10 on the Oilers. Today’s date is October 10, 2010. That’s number 10 scoring on 10/10/10. There’s your creepy moment of the day.

  1. Dan W - Oct 10, 2010 at 11:28 PM

    Looks like a pretty clear “kicking” motion. Not sure what else they were looking for. If a play like this is legal, I am not sure what they would disallow..

  2. JDM - Oct 11, 2010 at 3:13 AM

    Wow! I had to watch the film clip 4 times, this one was close. However in my opinion the crew in Toronto blew it. One could argue that Horcff was using his skate to try and direct the puck to his stick, but when his skate came off the ice it actually became a kicking motion.

  3. E=MC4 - Oct 11, 2010 at 9:10 AM

    It was clearly a kick. If it inadvertantly bounced off of his skate with no intention of using his foot to redirect the puck then I could see it being allowed. But he lifted and twisted his foot with the intent of redirecting the puck, and while it might be argued that he was trying to direct it onto his stick, the puck did not touch his stick. Valliant effort, but no goal.

  4. PolegoJim - Oct 11, 2010 at 10:34 AM

    Not even close – he turned and clearly kicked it. If if he was trying to redirect to his stick, he still kicked it in – so no goal as Einstein mentioned.

  5. Mike - Oct 11, 2010 at 11:40 AM

    I don’t think goals like this should count… but after seeing other similar ones be allowed, all I can say is, at least they’re consistant. A year or two ago, Dubinski turned his skate the sae way and directed a shot in. And since he only turned his skate, and didn’t astually kick with his leg, they counted it. I’m a ranger fan, and was totally expecting it to be called off. Shocked when it was allowed, but I guess that’s the current interpretation of the rule.

  6. NikolaiNYR - Oct 11, 2010 at 12:26 PM

    I’m with the crowd here. He distinctly moved his skate toward the net

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1397)
  2. P. Kane (1281)
  3. S. Matthias (1160)
  4. M. Zuccarello (1088)
  5. D. Carcillo (1082)