Skip to content

Nieuwendyk, Gilmour, Oates and Ciccarelli garner most HHOF votes among PHT, hockey bloggers

Jun 21, 2010, 8:00 PM EDT

niewyflames.jpgAfter polling the gang at PHT and 10 hockey bloggers, Joe Nieuwendyk stood head and shoulders above all of the other Hockey Hall of Fame candidates as the most deserving inductee for 2010. The four most competitive runners-up were Doug Gilmour, Adam Oates, Dino Ciccarelli and Dave Andreychuk. Cammi Granato, Alex Mogilny and Eric Lindros were the only other eligible candidates to receive more than one vote while a wide range of people earned at least one.

Let’s take a look at the possible inductees, from most votes to one vote each. The maximum number of votes is 13 and every pick counted as one vote – there were no bonuses given to a “first place winner.”

Overall Tally

Niewendyk – 10
Gilmour – 7
Oates – 6
Ciccarelli – 5
Andreychuk – 4
Granato – 2
Mogilny – 2
Lindros – 2


So, the closest thing to a consensus four-person ballot would be:

1. Nieuwendyk
2. Gilmour

That only person to come up with that exact ballot (though not necessarily in that order) was PHT’s own Joe Yerdon.

I was pleased to see the name Cammi Granato come up quite often and also noticed that Pavel Bure might have been the dominant force in the “honorable mention” category. I wonder if that’s a sign that the two very different hockey players might have a chance to make it into the Hall of Fame, even if it doesn’t happen in 2010.

Now that we’ve covered a big chunk of the hockey blogosphere’s opinion on the subject, I’d like to ask PHT readers out there. If you had a four-person ballot, who would you pick? Are there any candidates who shouldn’t have gone unnoticed or didn’t receive enough votes? Tell us in the comments.

Here are the two in-depth voting posts one more time, if you need some food for thought.

PHT’s choices

10 hockey bloggers provide their ballots.

  1. Chick Pea - Jun 22, 2010 at 1:19 AM

    With no due disrespect towards these bloggers, how could you not include Joe Pelletier from Greatest Hockey – no blogger knows his history like him

  2. jb - Jun 22, 2010 at 3:22 PM

    Hey there, thanks for the opportunity to chip in some thoughts.
    My ballot would have Oates, Gilmour and Nieuwendyk on it for sure, but the forth spot would definitely be up for grabs.
    One person no one has really talked about over the course of this debate is Sergei Markarov. I mean, if one could choose a team with players from any league during his prime (say 1979-1991) a GM would definitely have chosen Makarov to be on his team, from a pure talent standpoint.
    Back in the Soviet Union, Makarov played 11 championship seasons with CSKA Moscow, winning the Soviet player of the year award eight times, MVP three times, and leading the league in points nine times and goals three times. Together with Igor Larionov and Vladimir Krutov, they formed the KLM line, one of the most talented and feared lines ever to play hockey.
    The rest of the candidates being mentioned are all very good, but this is not the Hall of the Very Good, it’s the Hall of Fame. and the Hockey Hall of Fame to boot, not the NHL Hall of Fame. I hope the ballot casters give some thought to that before submitting their final selections.

  3. James O'Brien - Jun 22, 2010 at 4:43 PM

    I e-mailed Joe Pelletier, Chick Pea, but the turnaround time was probably too quick. It was very much a last minute project.

  4. Paul Fitsik III - Jul 19, 2010 at 5:14 AM

    Beezer? Name me one of the 2010 class that CARRIED their team? Crickets….I’ll tell you, John Vanbiesbrouck. He is teh greatest American goalie of all time. Not to mention he alone propelled the blue collar Floriad Panthers into the Stanley Cup finals. Do you remember the battle of Game 4? Beezer Vs. Roy? Beezer’s stats prove he should be in. Case closed!

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kane (1866)
  2. P. Kessel (1433)
  3. M. Richards (1223)
  4. N. Backstrom (1134)
  5. M. Giordano (1093)