Skip to content

The 2010 Vezina Trophy finalists

Apr 19, 2010, 12:00 PM EDT

Miller1.jpgWe have our finalists for the first of the NHL awards, which will be announced one award at a time over the next two weeks at Noon EST. Here are the Vezina Trophy finalists, which are voted on by the 30 NHL general managers:

Ryan Miller, Buffalo Sabres 41-18-8, 2.22 GAA, .929 Sv%, 5 SO

Ilya Bryzgalov, Phoenix Coyotes 42-20-6, 2.29 GAA, .920 Sv%, 8 SO

Martin Brodeur, New Jersey Devils 45-25-6, 2.24 GAA, .916 Sv%, 9 SO

The 2010 NHL Awards will be broadcast live from the Pearl Concert
Theater inside
the Palms Hotel Las Vegas on June 23, 2010, on VERSUS
in the United States and CBC in

The schedule for the award nomination announcements:

Monday, April 19 – Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
Tuesday, April 20 – Frank J. Selke Trophy (top defensive forward)
Wednesday, April 21 – Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (skill/sportsmanship)
Thursday, April 22 – Calder Memorial Trophy (top rookie)
Friday, April 23 – James Norris Memorial Trophy (top defenseman)
Monday, April 26 – Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)
Tuesday, April 27 – NHL Foundation Player Award (contributions to charitable causes)
Wednesday, April 28 – Jack Adams Award (top head coach)
Thursday, April 29 – Hart Memorial Trophy (MVP)

  1. polegojim - Apr 19, 2010 at 12:41 PM

    Craig Anderson was so close and deserves to be there, especially considering the overall Avs story this year.
    Jimmy Howard is another… first full season (basically a rookie) in the league with that kind of performance and with all the Wings injuries during Reg Season! He’ll be there after a few years under his pads.

  2. hmsgrace - Apr 19, 2010 at 3:15 PM

    I agree with polegojim on his assessment of Craig Anderson, but disagree with him on Jimmy Howard. Everyone says that Howard had a great season and should be considered for the Rookie of the Year Award since his stats were similar to last year’s winner. However, last year’s winner was netminding behind the Columbus team and not Detroit. Even with Detroits injuries, anybody could (and should) have the numbers that Howard put up. The playoffs are highlighting the fact that he is average at best and fundamentally unsound. He turns his back to the puck (and consequently loses sight of it)frequently, has limited puck handling abilities, can’t catch and in general is out of position too often.

  3. jigelow - Apr 19, 2010 at 5:01 PM

    The award is for “best goaltender”. It is not for “best goaltender, considering what team they play on and other intangible factors”.

  4. Chupa - Apr 29, 2010 at 8:03 PM

    I vote for Ilya Bryzgalov!

  5. Paul - Jun 14, 2010 at 10:51 PM

    Ilya Bryzgalov should be the vezina winner.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kessel (1759)
  2. P. Kane (1377)
  3. M. Richards (1263)
  4. P. Datsyuk (1249)
  5. N. Backstrom (1109)