Skip to content

Matt Cooke wins the first-ever Bertuzzday award!

Mar 16, 2010, 11:45 AM EDT

Matt Cooke2.jpg

Your first ever Bertuzzday award winner is … Matt Cooke! Let’s take a look at the poll results (super cute pie graph can be found here):

Matt Cooke: 96 votes (69%)

Colin Campbell: 26 votes (19%)

 “Other”: 11 votes (8%)

Steve Mason: 7 votes (5%)

The real highlight – for me anyway – was reading some of the user submitted responses for “other.” Here are some of the anonymous entries (misspellings and grammatical errors left blissfully untouched):


“Bob Probert”

“Gary Betteman”(sic)

“Maxim Lapierre for boarding San Jose center Scott Nichol” (yeah, I missed that one for sure)


“I have to give this first vote to Corey Perry as he is a goalie seeking missle”

“Sean Avery for being Sean Avery”

Aw, I love you guys too.

Congratulations (I guess?) go to Matt Cooke whose true reward will be skating around the ice with a bounty on his head for quite some time (especially against Boston). To keep things simple, I’ll have this week’s nominees a little bit later today. There’s a good chance Mr. Ovechkin will earn a nomination.

  1. john galt - Mar 16, 2010 at 3:21 PM

    Don Cherry went off on Matt Cooke as if Cooke were European on Saturday night. He showed ten or so “gutless” hits culled from Mr. Cooke’s illustrious career and in 80% of them the target of Cooke’s ire took to ducking or jumping to avoid a more punishing blow. They either tried to skirt out of the way leaving their knee exposed to brutal contact, or ducked into a flying shoulder smash that sent them flying. No doubt Cooke has loose wire or two, but by the way Cherry was ranting and raving it seemed like Cooke was the second coming of the dear Ulf Samuelsson.

  2. SteelCityChamps - Mar 16, 2010 at 5:48 PM

    I am glad Cooke plays for the Penguins.I’m sure he would gladly show you the ring he helped win last year,if you ask nicely. Oh yeah,Don Cherry is a kook.

Top 10 NHL Player Searches
  1. P. Kane (1733)
  2. P. Kessel (1499)
  3. M. Richards (1265)
  4. P. Datsyuk (1091)
  5. N. Backstrom (1072)